Hanrapetutyan Street in Yerevan

yerevan map streetsWith the passage of time it is of course inevitable that the names of many streets in Yerevan have been changed, as the main result is nearly always the same as far as the family historian is concerned. The same is with one of the main streets and favourite one in Yerevan – Hanrapetoutyan street which has a history of deep and interesting delight. Hanrapetoutyan Street was officially opened in 1856 but only in 1890s it became a well-arranged one with street lighting, payments, tiny brooks and low buildings. The street was beginning from the former Bazarnaya (today’s Khorenatsi) street and rose up to the gardens of Getar. The street was called Nahangayin (Goubernskaya), as the Province Administration and a Court were located on the very street. The building was an exceptional one, being the most important administrative centre for that period. Besides, it had a unique European style combined with an Armenian rose-coloured and black tuf. Between 1918-1920s the First Republic of Armenia, furthermore the Rescue Committee and in 1921 the Council of Liberal Commissars located on Hanrapetoutyan Street. The Committee of Cultural Ties with Diaspora, the editorials “Soviet Armenia” and “Voice of Armenia” were also located here. It’s worth mentioning that the meeting of the Armenian Rescue Committee took place in 32 Building, Hanrapetoutyan Street, with the participation of the Great Armenian Poet H o v h a n n e s Toumanyan who later became the Committee president. The street was also famous with Ter-Avetikyan Brothers’ Factory of Mechanism founded in 1905 and the Fruit Can Factory belonging to P. Esapian.

The Street was called

Goubernskaya in 1856
Lenin in 1921
Alaverdian in 1950
Hanrapetoutyan in 1990

Facts provided by “Yerevan History Museum”

Share Button

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *